Conway School Wins Award at National ‘We the People’ Competition

COLUMBIA (May 4, 2011)-Students from Scholars Academy in Conway won the Southeastern States Region Award at the 2011 We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution National Competition held April 30 -May 1 in Arlington, VA. “We the People” is an in-depth study of American history with an emphasis on understanding the formation of the Constitution and its interpretation throughout history. Students compete in a mock congressional hearing and discuss critical issues regarding American government, the founding fathers and current events based on a constitutional perspective. This award is presented to one school in each of the five geographic regions of the country with the highest cumulative score during the first two days of competition. Scholars Academy won the South Carolina Bar Law Related Education Division We the People competition in January, marking the school’s third state championship and advancement to the national competition. The Scholars Academy team is led by teacher coach Georgia Holley, with student members Austin Ambrose, Felicia Butler, Kyle Glover, Holly Hajnal, Hunter Hamvas, Kaitlyn Harper, Crane Havens, Logan Howard, Jennifer Karl, Mary Claire Lark, Chandler Parnell, Trenton Smith, Adam Stanaland, Sommer Tarabek, Courtney Todd, Taylor Treece, and Zach Waldowski. The We the People program is made possible by a grant from the Center for Civic Education and an IOLTA grant from the South Carolina Bar Foundation. The S.C. Bar’s LRE Division, which was developed to improve the ability of teachers to instruct law related education, has been a part of the Bar since 1976. The South Carolina Bar, which has a membership of more than 13,500 lawyers, is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.